The War Of Art by Steven Pressfield                

What This Book Is About

When you choose to be an artist, It feels  like that there are a million obstacles that get in your way. You have people telling you can’t do it. You have bills that need to get paid. There’s never enough time in the day. It feels like everything is trying to stop you. What sucks is the worst of these obstacles is the one living in your head.

Luckily, we have Steven Pressfield, who helps us identify what this force working against us is, and also tells us how to beat it. This mysterious energy standing in our way is called Resistance. And the only way to beat is to do what we love and need to do.

How It Helped Me

I’ve read a million self help books. And for some reason, the wording in The War Of Art is just so relatable and inspiring. I love how he says you need to treat your creative output like a job because that’s the only way to sit down and get the work done. Rappers call it “The Grind” and it’s pretty much athletes just spending time in the gym. That’s it, simple as that.

Before I read this book, whenever I felt lazy, I would always question my passion for making songs and wonder if it’s for me. But afterwards, I realized that everyone goes through it and that working through those “tired” days is the only way to keep going. Same with shows and doing open mics. Im always scared shitless before I go on stage, but I realized that is just Resistance rearing it’s ugly head again.

It also helped me realize the difference between thinking an activity is helping me or if an activity is actually helping me. I would spend A LOT of time watching tv and movies, or playing videogames, thinking it’s inspiring me. Instead of actually working on music. Now I realize I need to sit down on a table and write lyrics or get on my computer and just start making beats.

Definitely one of the greatest books ever when it comes to reminding artists to do what needs to be done.

As Im writing this the Eminem and Royce Da 5’9 and Bruno Mars “Lighters” Song is playing. How fitting.

“The amateur believes he must first overcome his fear; then he can do his work. The professional knows that fear can never be overcome. He knows there is no such thing as a fearless warrior or a dread-free artist.”

so how many hours a day do you spend on your passion ?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

