Why Reading Is Important To SongWriting For Me

There are days when my mind is a blank. Nothing. Just complete and utterness writer’s blockness. And those days suck. But I know I have to take responsibility for everything I do and realizing what gets my creative juices is always something Im grateful for. And one of those engine-starters is reading books.

I know people say reading is a lot exercising your mind. And it is. I agree with that. It’s almost like the feeling of being blocked gets lifted from my head and phrases just appear out of nowhere. Waiting to be written and performed. Waiting to be put in a song.

Mondays are particularly the worst, because I always pig out on a Sunday and my body’s in a physical slump starting off the week. But that’s ok, because all I gotta do is pick up a book. and BAM!

so what do you do to get your creative juices flowing?

Leave a comment

Filed under Creativity

Leave a Reply

